THE GREAT NAMES OF THE FRENCH CANADIAN COMMUNITY

THE CANADIAN FRENCH-SPEAKING WORLD and some of the people who have contributed to its greatness

BackFrancais

Economy

Joseph-Armand Bombardier

Date of birth:
April 16, 1907

Place of birth:
Valcourt

QuebecProvince:
Quebec

Calling:
Inventor

Historical Site:
Museum in Valcourt


Photo : Musée Joseph-Armand Bombardier

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  

 

 Back
Francais

 

Joseph-Armand Bombardier was the eldest of eight children. His parents, Anna Gravel and Alfred Bombardier, farmed and also ran the general store. Joseph-Armand early showed a definite talent for mechanics and a great passion for machines. He had all the tools he needed to make his talent bloom. At 15, he assembled his first snowmobile, propelled by a wooden propeller that threatened to decapitate passers-by at any moment. In 1926, he became a garage mechanic in Valcourt. He immediately grasped the operation of complex machinery. His reputation spread around the Eastern Townships and people came from afar to consult him. On August 7, 1929, he married Yvonne Labrecque, with whom he had six children.

In his spare time, he devoted himself to research, for he had one obsession: to built a vehicle that could conquer winter storms and so end the isolation of rural communities. In 1937, after years of effort and persistence, Bombardier produced a seven-passenger transporter (B-7) and obtained a patent for his tracked drive system that henceforth equipped all his vehicles. In 1940, the military took an interest in his B7 snowmobile which was capable of moving troops over ice, sand and swamps. He produced several hundred of them but did not receive royalties as the inventor, since Ottawa apparently considered that production as his contribution to the war effort. In 1942, he launched the B12 model. Modernized, it was furnished with an independent suspension on each axle. That year, the inventor incorporated himself and founded Auto-Neige Bombardier Inc. In 1948, Bombardier decided to build all-terrain vehicles for the exploration industries. The end of the 1950s saw the culmination of his work on the development of a small individual vehicle: the Ski-Dog, better known under the name of Ski-Doo (snowmobile) because of a printing error in the documentation given to the distributors.

With that invention, Joseph-Armand Bombardier solved the problem of individual transportation on snow in remote areas and gave birth to a new industry. Ten years after his death, more than a million Ski-Doos crisscross the fields and forests of the world. A great visionary, he laid the foundations of an empire, the Bombardier Corporation. This is a Quebec firm of international scope and one of the largest Canadian manufacturers. Its areas of activity are diversified (recreational products, railway transport, aeronautics, capital and services). Bombardier has a presence in more than 80 countries and employs nearly 47,000 people.

 

 

 

Next

LES GRANDS PERSONNAGES DE LA FRANCOPNONIE CANADIENNE

EXPLORONS L'UNIVERS DE LA FRANCOPHONIE CANADIENNE avec des grands noms qui ont contribué à sa richesse

EnglishRetour

ÉCONOMIE

Joseph-Armand Bombardier

Date de naissance :
16 avril 1907

Ville :
Valcourt

QuébecProvince :
Québec

Vocation :
Inventeur

Lieu historique :
Musée à Valcourt


Photo : Musée Joseph-Armand Bombardier

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  

 

 

 

 

Retour
English

 

Joseph-Armand Bombardier est l'aîné d'une famille de huit enfants. Ses parents, Anna Gravel et Alfred Bombardier, vivent de la ferme et tiennent aussi le marché général. Joseph-Armand manifeste très jeune un talent certain pour la mécanique et une grande passion pour les « machines ». Il dispose de tous les outils pour faire éclore son talent. Âgé de 15 ans, il assemble sa première « autoneige », propulsée par une hélice de bois qui menace à tout instant de décapiter les passants. En 1926, il devient garagiste à Valcourt. D'un coup d'œil, il saisit le fonctionnement des machines complexes. Sa réputation fait le tour des Cantons de l'Est et les gens viennent de très loin pour le consulter. Le 7 août 1929, il épouse Yvonne Labrecque, avec qui il a six enfants.

Durant ses temps libres, il se consacre à des travaux de recherche, car il a une obsession : fabriquer un véhicule qui pourrait vaincre les intempéries de l'hiver et ainsi mettre fin à l'isolement des communautés rurales. En 1937, Bombardier, après des années d'efforts et d'acharnement, produit un transporteur à sept passagers (B7) et obtient un brevet pour son système de traction à barbotin chenille qui équipe désormais tous ses véhicules. En 1940, les militaires s'intéressent à son autoneige B7 capable de transporter des troupes sur la glace, le sable et les marécages. Il en produit quelques centaines sans bénéficier de droits d'inventeur ; Ottawa considère cette production comme sa contribution à « l'effort de guerre ». En 1942, Joseph-Armand lance le modèle B12. Modernisé, il est muni d'une suspension indépendante à chaque essieu. Cette année-là, l'inventeur s'incorpore et fonde l'Auto-Neige Bombardier Inc. En 1948, Bombardier décide de construire des véhicules tout terrain pour les industries d'exploration. À la fin des années 1950, c'est l'aboutissement des travaux consacrés au développement d'un petit véhicule individuel : le Ski-Dog, plus connu sous le nom de Ski-Doo (motoneige) à la suite d'une erreur d'impression dans la documentation remise aux distributeurs.

Avec cette invention, Joseph-Armand Bombardier résout le problème de transport individuel sur neige en région éloignée et donne naissance à une nouvelle industrie. Dix ans après sa mort, plus de un million de motoneiges (Ski-Doo) parcourent les campagnes et forêts du monde. Grand visionnaire, il a jeté les bases d'un empire : Bombardier Corporation. Cette dernière est une entreprise québécoise d'envergure internationale et l'un des plus importants manufacturiers canadiens. Ses domaines d'activités sont diversifiés (les produits récréatifs, le transport ferroviaire, l'aéronautique, le capital et les services). Bombardier est présent dans plus de 80 pays et emploie près de 47 000 personnes.

 

 

 

Suivant


LES GRANDS PERSONNAGES DE LA FRANCOPNONIE CANADIENNE