THE GREAT NAMES OF THE FRENCH CANADIAN COMMUNITY

THE CANADIAN FRENCH-SPEAKING WORLD and some of the people who have contributed to its greatness

BackFrancais

Politics

Victor C. Goldbloom

Date of birth:
July 31, 1923

Place of birth:
Montreal

QuebecProvince:
Quebec

Calling:
Politician

 


Photo : Commissariat aux langues officielles

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  

 

 Back
Francais

 

Victor C. Goldbloom came from a wealthy family. He received an excellent classical education in Montreal. In 1945, he finished his medical studies at McGill University. He later taught pediatric medicine for several years. In 1962, Victor C. Goldbloom entered public life. He was elected a Governor of the old Corporation Professionelle des médecins du Québec, and then was appointed Vice President of that organization, a position he held until 1966.

In June 1966, he made the move to politics. He was elected MNA for the new provincial riding of D'Arcy-McGee. In April 1970, after four years in the Opposition, he was re-elected and became the first member of Quebec's Jewish community to serve in the Premier's cabinet. Robert Bourassa put him in charge of the Ministry of the Environment. During his time in office, Victor C. Goldbloom brought in the Environmental Quality Act and organized the Environmental Protection Service. In February 1973, he was appointed Minister of Municipal Affairs, thus combining two ministerial functions. In November 1976, the government put him in charge of the Olympics Installations Board. He was then re-elected for a fourth term to the National Assembly but this time as a member of the Official Opposition. On October 10, 1979, he left his position as MNA.

Since the end of his political career, Mr. Goldbloom has worked to bring Quebec's cultural communities together. In 1980, he accepted a position as CEO of the Canadian Council of Christians and Jews, a job he held until 1987. He then became President of the Quebec chapter of the Council as a volunteer. From 1982 to 1990, he chaired the International Council of Christians and Jews. In June 1991, he was appointed Commissioner of Official Languages of Canada; he remained in this position until the spring of 1999. Mr. Goldbloom is a founding member of a number of organizations: the Jules and Paul-Émile Léger Foundation, the Jean Lesage Foundation, the Musée des religions de Nicolet and the Canadian Council for Aboriginal Business. He was also President of the Bureau d'audiences publiques sur l'environnement from 1987 to 1990. Mr. Goldbloom has received a number of honorary distinctions, including being made an Officer of the Order of Canada (1983) and the Ordre du Québec (1991). Throughout his whole career, Victor C. Goldbloom has brought people together and built bridges between Canada's various cultural communities.

 

 

 

Next


THE GREAT NAMES OF THE FRENCH CANADIAN COMMUNITY

LES GRANDS PERSONNAGES DE LA FRANCOPNONIE CANADIENNE

EXPLORONS L'UNIVERS DE LA FRANCOPHONIE CANADIENNE avec des grands noms qui ont contribué à sa richesse

EnglishRetour

POLITIQUE

Victor C. Goldbloom

Date de naissance :
31 juillet 1923

Ville :
Montréal

QuébecProvince :
Québec

Vocation :
Politicien

 


Photo : Commissariat aux langues officielles

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  

  

 

 

Retour
English

 

Victor C. Goldbloom est issu d'une famille riche. Il reçoit une excellente formation classique à Montréal. En 1945, il complète ses études de médecine à l'Université McGill. Par la suite, il y enseigne la pédiatrie pendant quelques années. En 1962, Victor C. Goldbloom débute sa vie publique. Il est élu gouverneur de l'ancienne Corporation professionnelle des médecins du Québec, puis est nommé vice-président de cet organisme, poste qu'il occupe jusqu'en 1966.

En juin 1966, il fait le saut en politique. Il est élu député de la nouvelle circonscription provinciale de D'Arcy-McGee. En avril 1970, après quatre années passées à l'opposition, il est réélu et devient le premier membre de la communauté juive du Québec à faire son entrée dans le cabinet d'un premier ministre. Robert Bourassa lui confie alors la responsabilité du ministère de l'Environnement. Durant son mandat, Victor C. Goldbloom instaure la Loi sur la qualité de l'environnement et organise le Service de protection de l'environnement. En février 1973, il est nommé ministre des Affaires municipales, cumulant ainsi deux fonctions ministérielles. En novembre 1976, le gouvernement lui confie la Régie des installations olympiques. Il est ensuite réélu pour un quatrième mandat à l'Assemblée nationale, mais cette fois, au sein de l'opposition officielle. C'est le 10 octobre 1979 qu'il quitte son poste de député.

Depuis la fin de sa carrière politique, Victor C. Goldbloom œuvre au rapprochement des communautés culturelles au Canada. En 1980, il accepte le poste de directeur général du Conseil canadien des Chrétiens et des Juifs ; il occupe ce poste jusqu'en 1987. Il devient alors président de la section du Québec de ce Conseil et ce, à titre de bénévole. De 1982 à 1990, il préside l'Amitié internationale judéo-chrétienne. C'est en juin 1991 qu'il est nommé commissaire aux langues officielles du Canada ; il le demeurera jusqu'au printemps 1999. Monsieur Goldbloom est membre fondateur de plusieurs organismes : la Fondation Jules et Paul-Émile Léger, la Fondation Jean-Lesage, le Musée des religions de Nicolet et le Conseil canadien pour le commerce autochtone. Il assume également la présidence du Bureau d'audiences publiques sur l'environnement de 1987 à 1990. Victor C. Goldbloom obtient plusieurs distinctions honorifiques dont celles d'officier de l'Ordre du Canada (1983) et de l'Ordre national du Québec (1991). Durant toute sa carrière, Victor C. Goldbloom a été un rassembleur, il a bâti des ponts entre les différentes communautés culturelles du Canada.

 

 

 Suivant

 


LES GRANDS PERSONNAGES DE LA FRANCOPNONIE CANADIENNE