THE GREAT NAMES OF THE FRENCH CANADIAN COMMUNITY

THE CANADIAN FRENCH-SPEAKING WORLD and some of the people who have contributed to its greatness

BackFrancais

Literature

Antonine Maillet

Date of birth:
May 10, 1929

Place of birth:
Buctouche

New BrunswickProvince:
New Brunswick

Callings:
Novelist and playwright


Photo : Micheline Rochette avec la permission de la Bibliothèque nationale du Canada

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  

 

 

 

 Back
Francais

 

Antonine Maillet is a novelist and playwright of great talent. She was educated in Buctouche, Memramcook, Moncton, Montreal and Quebec City. In 1962, she completed a Licentiate in Literature at the Université de Montréal. A recipient of a Canada Council grant, she stayed in Paris from 1962 to 1964 and from 1969 to 1970. She earned a Doctorat ès lettres from the Université Laval in 1970. She has had a number of Callings, including being a teacher of literature at various colleges and universities and a scriptwriter and broadcaster for Radio-Canada in Moncton.

Her first novel was written in 1958. Since then, she has published some thirty works. She has won numerous literary prizes, including the Prix Champlain for Pointe-aux-Coques (1958), the Governor General's Award for Don L'Orignal (1972), the Prix Québec-Paris and the Prix des Volcans (France) in 1975 for Mariaagelas. Finally, she is the first francophone writer not living in France to be awarded the prestigious Prix Goncourt for Pélagie-la-Charrette, in 1979. This work has been translated into English, Slovakian and Bulgarian. Mrs. Maillet also holds a number of honorary doctorates in literature and in law and is a member of a number of associations and organizations, including the Académie canadienne-francaise, the Ordre des francophones d'Amérique, the Haut-Conseil de la francophonie and the Union des écrivains et écrivaines du Québec.

Her work draws its inspiration from the history, language, folklore, traditions and geographical characteristics of her region, Acadia. Her writings present a number of imaginary people living in a world highly reminiscent of Buctouche, her native village. Her fiery commitment to Acadia and her people has greatly contributed to their development in recent decades. As she stated, loud and clear, at the first Acadian World Congress on October 7, 1985, "Acadia needs to say what it is, that it belongs to the world Francophonie and, accordingly, it has a place in the world, and this place is unique, like that of every people in this world."

Today, Antonine Maillet is Chancellor of the Université de Moncton and continues to promote the French language in Canada and in the world. At the 8th Francophone Summit, held in Moncton in 1999, she awarded French President Jacques Chirac an honorary doctorate in political science. In addition, she is a member of the board of directors of the Baxter and Alma Ricard Foundation together with the Desmarais family and Roméo LeBlanc, Governor General of Canada from 1995 to 1999.

 

 

 

 

Next


THE GREAT NAMES OF THE FRENCH CANADIAN COMMUNITY

LES GRANDS PERSONNAGES DE LA FRANCOPNONIE CANADIENNE

EXPLORONS L'UNIVERS DE LA FRANCOPHONIE CANADIENNE avec des grands noms qui ont contribué à sa richesse

EnglishRetour

LITTÉRATURE

Antonine Maillet

Date de naissance :
10 mai 1929

Ville :
Bouctouche

Nouveau-BrunswickProvince :
Nouveau-Brunswick

Vocations :
Romancière et dramaturge


Photo : Micheline Rochette avec la permission de la Bibliothèque nationale du Canada

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  

 

 

 

Retour
English

 

Antonine Maillet est une romancière et dramaturge de grand talent. Elle étudie à Bouctouche, Memracook, à Moncton, à Montréal et à Québec. En 1962, elle termine une licence ès lettres à l'Université de Montréal. Boursière du Conseil des Arts du Canada, elle séjourne à Paris de 1962 à 1964 et de 1969 à 1970. Elle obtient un doctorat ès lettres à l'Université Laval en 1970. Elle a exercé plusieurs professions : professeur de littérature dans différentes institutions collégiales et universitaires, puis scripteur et animatrice pour Radio-Canada, à Moncton.

Son premier roman fut écrit en 1958. Depuis, elle a publié une trentaine d'œuvres. Elle a remporté de nombreux prix littéraires, dont le prix Champlain pour Pointe-aux-Coques (1958), le prix du gouverneur général pour Don l'Orignal (1972), le prix Québec-Paris et le prix des Volcans (France) en 1975 pour Mariaagelas. Enfin, elle est la première écrivaine francophone n'habitant pas la France à gagner le prestigieux prix Goncourt pour Pélagie-la-Charrette, en 1979. Cette œuvre est traduite en langues anglaise, slovaque et bulgare. Madame Maillet est aussi titulaire de plusieurs doctorats honorifiques (en littérature et en droit) et est membre de plusieurs associations et organismes dont l'Académie canadienne-française, l'Ordre des francophones d'Amérique, le Haut-Conseil de la francophonie et l'Union des écrivains et écrivaines du Québec.

Son œuvre est inspirée de l'histoire, de la langue, du folklore, des traditions et des caractéristiques géographiques de son pays, l'Acadie. Dans ses écrits, plusieurs personnages imaginaires vivent dans un monde qui rappelle de beaucoup Bouctouche, son village natal. Son engagement fougueux pour l'Acadie et pour son peuple a grandement contribué à leur épanouissement dans les dernières décennies. Elle l'a dit haut et fort au premier Congrès mondial acadien (7 octobre 1985), « L'Acadie a besoin de dire qu'elle est, qu'elle fait partie de la francophonie du monde entier, et que par conséquent, elle a sa place dans le monde, et que cette place est unique, comme chaque peuple au monde ».

Aujourd'hui, Antonine Maillet est le chancelier de l'Université de Moncton et elle continue de promouvoir la langue française au Canada et dans le monde. Lors du 8e Sommet de la Francophonie, tenu à Moncton en 1999, elle a remis au président français Jacques Chirac un doctorat honorifique en sciences politiques. De plus, elle fait partie du conseil d'administration de la Fondation Baxter et Alma Ricard avec la famille Desmarais et Roméo LeBlanc, gouverneur général du Canada de 1995 à 1999.

 

 

 

 Suivant


LES GRANDS PERSONNAGES DE LA FRANCOPNONIE CANADIENNE