THE GREAT NAMES OF THE FRENCH CANADIAN COMMUNITY

THE CANADIAN FRENCH-SPEAKING WORLD and some of the people who have contributed to its greatness

BackFrancais

HISTORY

Louis Riel

Date of birth:
October 21, 1844

Place of birth:
Saint-Boniface

ManitobaProvince:
Manitoba

Calling:
Activist

 


Photo : The Metis Nation of Ontario

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 Back
Francais

 

Louis Riel was the son of Louis Riel Sr and Julie Lagimodière, both intensely devout Roman Catholics. In 1858, Msgr Taché sent the young Louis to Montreal to continue his education, with the hope that he would become a priest. But Louis opted instead to study law with Rudolphe Laflamme, and then found work in Chicago and in St Paul, Minnesota, before returning to Saint-Boniface in 1868.

At the time, some 10,000 Métis were living along the Red River, most of them French-speaking and Roman Catholic. The descendants of unions between coureurs de bois and Amerindian women, they lived by hunting and by farming the fertile land. In 1869, the Canadian government decided that the Métis farms would be a good place to install English-speaking settlers from Ontario, and without regard for the rights of the Métis, Ottawa sent out surveyors, who treated the local people with great arrogance. Faced with this threat, the Métis decided to resist. They set up a provisional government for the territory they called (at the suggestion of Louis Riel) Manitoba, based on the principle of tolerance and equality among cultures. The provisional government elected Riel as its President. He decided to take over Fort Garry (Winnipeg), and published a list of Métis rights, to emphasize to the federal government the importance of negotiating with them Manitoba's entry into the Canadian Confederation. The government of Sir John A. Macdonald was willing to negotiate, but the discussions ran into a brick wall in the spring of 1870 when the federal authorities learned of the execution of Thomas Scott, an Ontarian, by Riel's Métis. Canada's English-speaking majority was never to forgive Riel for the execution. On July 15, 1870, the Manitoba Act made Manitoba the fifth Canadian province. Ottawa refused to recognize Riel's government, but agreed to most of its linguistic, religious and territorial demands. Riel was strongly advised to go into exile, and he left for the United States.

During the 1870s, large numbers of Métis sold their farms to move farther west, to the banks of the Saskatchewan River. But in 1882 federal surveyors once again descended on them, and treated them just as contemptuously as they had done in 1869. Outraged, the Métis appealed to Riel, who was still living in the United States. He returned to form a government and organize resistance. This time the Métis had the support of the Plains Amerindians, who also saw themselves threatened by the encroachment of settlers from the East. The federal government refused to negotiate. It decided to send troops against the rebels. The combined forces of the Métis and the Amerindians could not hold out against the better armed soldiers, who were brought in by train. In the spring of 1885, the uprising was brutally suppressed. Riel was imprisoned and charged with high treason.

The trial of Louis Riel split the country's francophones and anglophones. French Canadians, who had generally supported the Métis cause, called the whole trial a mockery and demanded that he be acquitted. He was tried in Regina before an exclusively English-speaking jury, and hanged on November 16, 1885. The people of Ontario, who wanted revenge for Scott's death in 1870 and who regarded the Métis as rebels, greeted the news of Riel's hanging with satisfaction.

Even today, this is a powerfully emotional issue. In early 1999, in response to a favourable survey of federal Members of Parliament, MP Denis Coderre introduced a bill in the House of Commons to pardon Louis Riel. The pardon would rehabilitate him in the eyes of history and give him the honour he deserves as a champion of the rights of the Métis and the Amerindians.

 

 

Next


THE GREAT NAMES OF THE FRENCH CANADIAN COMMUNITY

LES GRANDS PERSONNAGES DE LA FRANCOPNONIE CANADIENNE

EXPLORONS L'UNIVERS DE LA FRANCOPHONIE CANADIENNE avec des grands noms qui ont contribué à sa richesse

EnglishRetour

HISTOIRE

Louis Riel

Date de naissance :
21 octobre 1844

Ville :
Saint-Boniface

ManitobaProvince :
Manitoba

Vocation :
Militant


Photo : The Metis Nation of Ontario

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Retour
English

 

Louis Riel est le fils de Louis Riel père et de Julie Lagimodière, qui pratiquent la religion catholique avec ferveur. En 1858, Mgr Taché envoie Louis à Montréal poursuivre ses études dans le but de le former à la prêtrise. Louis Riel préfère étudier le droit avec Rudolphe Laflamme, puis il travaille à Chicago et à Saint-Paul, Minessota, avant de revenir à Saint-Boniface en 1868.

À l'époque, sur les bords de la rivière Rouge, vivent environ 10 000 Métis, en majorité francophones et catholiques. Issus d'unions entre coureurs des bois et Amérindiennes, ils vivent de chasse aux bisons et cultivent des terres très fertiles. En 1869, le territoire des Métis est convoité par le gouvernement canadien qui veut y installer des colons anglophones en provenance de l'Ontario. Sans tenir compte des droits des Métis, il envoie des arpenteurs qui s'imposent avec beaucoup d'arrogance. Devant cette menace, les Métis décident de résister. Ils établissent un gouvernement provisoire du Manitoba (nom suggéré par Louis Riel) selon le principe de tolérance et d'égalité des cultures. Ce gouvernement élit Louis Riel comme président. Riel décide de s'emparer de Fort Garry (Winnipeg) et publie une liste des droits des Métis, pour souligner au gouvernement fédéral l'importance de négocier, avec les Métis, l'entrée du Manitoba dans la Confédération canadienne. Le gouvernement McDonald consent à négocier, mais les discussions achoppent au printemps de 1870, lorsque les autorités fédérales apprennent l'exécution de Thomas Scott, un Ontarien, par les Métis de Riel. La majorité anglophone du Canada ne pardonnera jamais à Riel cette exécution. Le 15 juillet 1870, de par le Manitoba Act, le Manitoba devient la 5e province canadienne. Le gouvernement du Canada ne reconnaît pas le gouvernement de Louis Riel, mais accepte la plupart de ses demandes (linguistiques, religieuses et territoriales). On conseille fortement à Louis Riel de s'exiler ; il part pour les États-Unis.

Dans les années 1870, de nombreux Métis vendent leurs terres pour aller s'établir plus à l'ouest, sur les rives de la rivière Saskatchewan. En 1882, ils sont de nouveaux rejoints par les arpenteurs fédéraux, qui montrent à leur égard autant d'arrogance qu'en 1869, au Manitoba. Indignés, les Métis font appel une fois de plus à Louis Riel, toujours réfugié aux États-Unis. Ils forment alors un gouvernement et organisent la résistance. Cette fois, ils ont l'appui des Amérindiens de l'Ouest qui, à leur tour, se sentent menacés par l'expansion des colons de l'Est. Le gouvernement fédéral refuse de négocier et décide d'envoyer les troupes mater les rebelles. Les forces combinées des Métis et des Amérindiens ne peuvent résister aux soldats bien mieux armés et transportés sur les lieux par chemin de fer. Au printemps 1885, ce soulèvement est durement réprimé. Fait prisonnier, Louis Riel est accusé de haute trahison.

Le procès de Riel divise les francophones et les anglophones du pays. Les Canadiens français, sensibles à la cause des Métis, crient à l'injustice et réclament son acquittement. Il est jugé à Regina, devant un jury composé exclusivement d'anglophones, et est pendu le 16 novembre 1885. Les Ontariens, souhaitant venger la mort de Scott (1870) et considérant les Métis comme des rebelles, accueillent avec satisfaction l'annonce de sa pendaison.

Encore aujourd'hui, cette histoire demeure bien vivante. Au début de l'année 1999, suite à un sondage favorable réalisé auprès des députés fédéraux, le député Denis Coderre entreprit des démarches officielles à la Chambre des communes pour amnistier Louis Riel. Cette amnistie permettra à l'histoire de réhabiliter Louis Riel et de lui rendre tout le mérite qui lui est dû : la défense des droits des Métis et des Amérindiens.

 

 

 

 Suivant


LES GRANDS PERSONNAGES DE LA FRANCOPNONIE CANADIENNE