THE GREAT NAMES OF THE FRENCH CANADIAN COMMUNITY

THE CANADIAN FRENCH-SPEAKING WORLD and some of the people who have contributed to its greatness

BackFrancais

POLITICS

Lise Thibault

Date of birth:
April 2, 1939

Place of birth:
St-Roch-de-l'Achigan

QuebecProvince:
Quebec

Callings:
Teacher, broadcaster and
Lieutenant-Governor


Photo : Charles H. Leclerc avec l'autorisation du site de la Surdité du Québec

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Back
Francais

 

Lise Thibault was the eldest daughter of Paul Trudel and Laurenza Wolfe. She was educated at a number of boarding schools in the Lanaudière and Montreal regions, including the Académie Marie-Anne de Montréal, and then went on to teachers' college in Saint-Jérôme. When she was still just a teenager, a bad tobogganing accident left her with a permanent disability, but having to use a wheelchair has never slowed her down. She married René Thibault on November 21, 1959, and they began their life together in Saint-Hypolite. They have two children and five grandchildren.

Lise Thibault taught with the adult education department of the Milles-Îles and Des Écores school boards from 1973 to 1978. She worked for Télé-Métropole from 1977 to 1981 and for the CBC from 1982 to 1984, as a host and researcher for programs about family and community issues. In 1977, she was appointed to the Quebec Ministry of Education's Commission de surveillance de la langue d'enseignement. Later she took on the chairmanship of the Canada Day celebrations (1983-1984) and then became Vice President (Relations with Beneficiaries) for Quebec's Commission de la santé et sécurité au travail (1987-1993). She was President and CEO of the Office des personnes handicappées du Québec from 1993 to 1995. On January 30, 1997, she was sworn in as Quebec's 27th Lieutenant Governor -- the first woman to occupy the position.

Very involved in the community, Lise Thibault has been on the boards of a number of organizations: the Fondation Marie-Paul de Sainte-Véronique (1985-1995); the Canadian Red Cross Society (1985-1987); the Régie des rentes du Québec (1987-1995); the Office des personnes handicappées du Québec (1992-1993). She has played an active part in cultural and community activities: founding secretary of the newspaper La Chaîne (1972); editor of the Journal des femmes d'aujourd'hui (1973-1976); member of the Union des artistes (1978-1987). She has been a contributor to the magazine Le temps de vivre (1982-1984); member, secretary and chair of a number of school councils (1964-1972); vice president of the Cercle des fermières (1971-1973); moving force behind the establishment of a chair in hepatology at the Université de Montréal (1995); member of the Cercle des femmes journalistes (1984-1987).

In 1994, Lise Thibault was given the YMCA's "Femme de Mérite" award for her involvement in the community. The same year, she was named "Personality of the Year" by Châtelaine magazine. She is a woman with a fine mind and a warm heart, who has dedicated herself to the well-being of the people around her.

 

 

 

Next


THE GREAT NAMES OF THE FRENCH CANADIAN COMMUNITY

LES GRANDS PERSONNAGES DE LA FRANCOPNONIE CANADIENNE

EXPLORONS L'UNIVERS DE LA FRANCOPHONIE CANADIENNE avec des grands noms qui ont contribué à sa richesse

EnglishRetour

Politique

Lise Thibault

Date de naissance :
2 avril 1939

Ville :
St-Rock-de-l'Achigan

QuébecProvince :
Québec

Vocations :
Enseignante, animatrice, lieutenant-gouverneur


Photo : Charles H. Leclerc avec l'autorisation du site de la Surdité du Québec

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Retour
English

 

Lise Trudel est la fille aînée de Paul Trudel et de Laurenza Wolfe. Elle fait ses études dans différents pensionnats des régions de Lanaudière et de Montréal, dont l'Académie Marie-Anne de Montréal. Elle poursuit ses études à l'École normale de Saint-Jérôme. À l'adolescence, un fâcheux accident de luge handicape de façon permanente Lise Trudel. Malgré le fait qu'elle doive se déplacer en fauteuil roulant, elle demeure très active. Elle se marie avec René Thibault le 21 novembre 1959 et ils s'installent à Saint-Hypolyte. Le couple a deux enfants et compte maintenant cinq petits-enfants.

Lise Thibault enseigne au service d'éducation des adultes de la Commission scolaire des Milles-Îles et des Écores (1973-1978). Elle travaille à Télé-Métropole (1977-1981) et à Radio-Canada (1982-1984) à titre d'animatrice et de recherchiste pour des émissions socio-familiales. En 1977, on la retrouve commissaire à la Commission de surveillance de la langue d'enseignement du MÉQ. Elle devient par la suite présidente des Fêtes du Canada (1983-1984) puis vice-présidente aux relations avec les bénéficiaires à la Commission de la santé et sécurité au travail (1987-1993). Lise Thibault occupe le poste de présidente-directrice générale de l'Office des personnes handicapées du Québec de 1993 à 1995. Le 30 janvier 1997, elle est assermentée 27e lieutenant-gouverneur du Québec. C'est la première fois que ce poste est occupé par une femme.

Très engagée socialement, Lise Thibault est membre de plusieurs conseils d'administration : Fondation Marie-Paule de Sainte-Véronique (1985-1995) ; Société canadienne de la Croix-Rouge (1985-1987) ; Régie des rentes du Québec (1987-1995) ; Office des personnes handicapées du Québec (1992-1993). Elle s'implique activement dans les activités culturelles et communautaires des organismes suivants : secrétaire fondatrice du journal La Chaîne (1972) ; responsable du Journal des Femmes d'aujourd'hui (1973-1976) et membre de l'Union des artistes (1978-1987). Elle collabore également à la revue Le temps de vivre (1982-1984) ; est membre, secrétaire et présidente de comités d'écoles (1964-1972) ; vice-présidente du Cercle des fermières (1971-1973) ; marraine pour la création d'une chaire en hépathologie à l'Université de Montréal (1995) et membre du Cercle des femmes journalistes de 1984 à 1987.

Finalement, madame Lise Thibault reçoit en 1994 le prix Femme de mérite, décerné par le YWCA, pour son implication sociale. La même année, elle est nommée « Personnalité de l'année » par la revue Châtelaine. Lise Thibault est une femme de cœur ainsi qu'une une femme de tête qui s'est dévouée pour le bien-être des autres.

 

 

 

 Suivant


LES GRANDS PERSONNAGES DE LA FRANCOPNONIE CANADIENNE