THE CANADIAN FRENCH-SPEAKING WORLD and some of the people who have contributed to its greatness



Father Albert Lacombe

Date of birth:
June 13 [February 28?], 1827

Place of birth:


Founder, priest and peacemaker


Photo : Archives de l'école Père Lacombe
























Father Albert Lacombe was born in Saint-Sulpice on February 28, 1827. He was the son of Albert Lacombe and Agathe Duhamel. He studied at the Collège l'Assomption and was ordained priest of the Oblate Order on June 13, 1849. The young priest immediately set out for the West, and worked in Pembina, North Dakota, from 1849 to 1851. 1851, he returned to Montreal and was appointed curate in Berthier. In March 1852, he offered his services to Msgr Alexandre Taché, the new Suffragan Bishop of Saint-Boniface, and followed him to the Red River. It was the start of a great adventure in the Canadian West.

In 1852, Father Lacombe went to Edmonton, where he spent the winter among the Cree and the Métis. In 1853, he moved to Lac Sainte-Anne, and two years later undertook the long and arduous trip to Lesser Slave Lake. In 1858, he founded the Saint-Joachim mission at Fort Edmonton. In 1861, he decided on the site for a new mission in Saint-Albert, Alberta. Three years later, he was given the mission of evangelizing the Cree and the Blackfoot, the main Amerindian tribes of the western plains. From 1865 to 1872, he crisscrossed the Prairies and founded among other things the colony of Saint-Paul des Cris in Brosseau, Alberta. He also acted as a peacemaker in the wars between the Cree and the Blackfoot, and opened the first flour mill in Saint-Albert. In 1872, Father Lacombe was appointed to the parish of Winnipeg (Fort Gary) and put in charge of: colonization in Manitoba. In 1875, he was sent to Eastern Canada and the United States to encourage colonization. In 1879, having returned Manitoba, he was appointed Vicar General of Saint-Boniface, and from 1880 to 1882 his special care was for the workers employed to build the Canadian Pacific railway.

In 1880, he became the first parish priest in the growing town of Calgary. In 1884, he founded the Amerindian School in Dunbow, Alberta. He acted as a negotiator between Canadian Pacific and the Blackfoot, who did not want the railway crossing their territory. Canadian Pacific was grateful to Father Lacombe until the end of his long life. In 1885, the Red River Rebellion erupted in the West, and the Prime Minister called on Father Lacombe's services to keep the Plains tribes out of the conflict. He opened a hospital on the Blood Reserve in 1893 and a school in 1898. He played an important role in the establishment of schools in the West. In 1900 and 1904 he visited Austria, where he met Emperor Franz Joseph, and Galicia, in Eastern Europe, to discuss the religious interests of Galician settlers in Canada. In 1904, he went to live in Pincher Creek, in what he called his "Hermitage" of Saint-Michel. In 1909, he shouldered the task of organizing a hospice for elderly people in Midnapore, the Lacombe Home, where he lived until his death in 1916.

The Plains Amerindians considered Albert Lacombe as a brother and nicknamed him "Man with a heart", while his parishioners called him "notre vieux connaissant" -- "our wise elder".

Today a number of geographical sites, and a great many monuments, buildings (including Château-Lacombe in Edmonton) and historic sites bear the French name of this great founder and peacemaker of the Canadian West. His body is buried in the crypt of the Saint-Albert parish church.

LES GRANDS PERSONNAGES DE LA FRANCOPNONIE CANADIENNE

EXPLORONS L'UNIVERS DE LA FRANCOPHONIE CANADIENNE avec des grands noms qui ont contribué à sa richesse

EnglishRetour

VIE DE SOCIÉTÉ

Père Albert Lacombe

Date de naissance :
13 juin 1827

Ville :
Saint-Sulpice

AlbertaProvince :
Québec

Vocations :
fondateur, prêtre et pacificateur


Photo : Archives de l'école Père Lacombe

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Retour
English

 

Le père Albert Lacombe est né à Saint-Sulpice le 28 février 1827. Il est le fils d'Albert Lacombe et d'Agathe Duhamel. Il étudie au Collège de l'Assomption et est ordonné prêtre chez les Oblats le 13 juin 1849. Le jeune prêtre prend immédia-tement la route de l'Ouest et travaille à Pembina dans le Dakota du Nord, de 1849 à 1851. En 1851, il rentre à Montréal et est nommé vicaire à Berthier. En mars 1852, il offre ses services à Mgr Alexandre Taché, nouvel auxiliaire de l'évêque de Saint-Boniface, et le suit jusqu'à Rivière-Rouge. C'est le début d'une grande aventure dans l'Ouest canadien.

En 1852, l'abbé Lacombe se rend à Edmonton, où il passe l'hiver au milieu des Cris et des Métis. En 1853, il s'installe à Lac-Sainte-Anne et, deux ans plus tard, il entreprend un long voyage au Petit-Lac-des-Esclaves. En 1858, il fonde la mission de Saint-Joachim au Fort Edmonton. En 1861, il fixe l'emplacement d'une nouvelle mission à Saint-Albert en Alberta. En 1864, il reçoit la mission d'évangéliser les Cris et les Pieds-Noirs, tribus amérindiennes de l'Ouest canadien. De 1865 à 1872, il parcourt la prairie et fonde, notamment, la colonie de Saint-Paul des Cris, à Brosseau en Alberta. Il agit aussi comme pacificateur dans les guerres entre Cris et Pieds-Noirs, et ouvre le premier moulin à farine à Saint-Albert. En 1872, on le nomme curé de Winnipeg (Fort Garry) et responsable de la colonisation au Manitoba. En 1875, il est envoyé dans l'Est du Canada et aux États-Unis pour y faire du travail de colonisation. En 1879, de retour au Manitoba, il est nommé vicaire-général de Saint-Boniface et, de 1880 à 1882, il s'occupe des ouvriers employés à la construction du chemin de fer du Canadien-Pacifique.

En 1882, il est premier curé de la ville naissante de Calgary. C'est en 1884 qu'il fonde l'école indienne de Dunbow, en Alberta. Il agit alors comme négociateur entre le Canadien-Pacifique et les Pieds-Noirs, qui s'opposent au passage du train sur leur territoire. Le Canadien-Pacifique lui en sera reconnaissant durant toute sa vie. En 1885, la Rébellion fait rage dans l'Ouest et le premier ministre du Canada fait appel à ses services pour pacifier les tribus amérindiennes. À Blood Reserve, il ouvre un hôpital en 1893 et une école en 1898. Il joue un rôle important dans l'établissement des écoles de l'Ouest. En 1900 et 1904, il se rend en Autriche rencontrer l'empereur François-Joseph, et en Galicie, en Europe de l'Est, pour discuter des intérêts religieux des Galiciens du Canada. En 1904, il s'installe à Pincher-Creek, qu'il appelle son « Ermitage Saint-Michel », où il demeure de longues années. En 1909, il s'occupe de l'organisation d'un hospice pour vieillards à Midnapore, le Lacombe Home, où il réside jusqu'à sa mort en 1916.

Les Amérindiens de l'Ouest le considéraient comme un frère et le surnommaient « l'homme au bon cœur », tandis que ses fidèles l'appelaient « notre vieux connaissant ».

Aujourd'hui, plusieurs sites géographiques, un grand nombre de monuments et édifices (dont le Château-Lacombe à Edmonton) et des sites historiques, portent le nom francophone de ce grand fondateur et pacificateur de l'Ouest canadien. Il fut inhumé dans la crypte de l'église de Saint-Albert.

 

 

 

 Suivant


LES GRANDS PERSONNAGES DE LA FRANCOPNONIE CANADIENNE