THE GREAT NAMES OF THE FRENCH CANADIAN COMMUNITY

THE CANADIAN FRENCH-SPEAKING WORLD and some of the people who have contributed to its greatness

BackFrancais

ARTS AND CULTURE

Émile Benoît

Date of birth:
March 24, 1913

Place of birth:
L'Anse-à-Canards

NewfoundlandProvince:
Newfoundland

Callings:
Storyteller, folklorist and fiddler

 

 

"Yes, I'm proud of helping the French to survive
here. I've got no enemies, no bad friends, I'm
just a free man."

Émile Benoît


Photo : Festival Émile-Benoît

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Back
Francais

 

His father, Amédé Benoît, was of French descent, and his mother, Adeline Duffenais, was an Acadian from Cheticamp. He studied English during his three years at the elementary school in L'Anse-à-Canards. Like most Franco-Newfoundlanders of the time, he learned his French at home. At the age of 12, he started to work as a fisherman, the trade he was to ply throughout his life. He managed to lay hands on a violin and began to play at dances, weddings, and community and family gatherings.

Émile Benoît had a host of talents. He was a jack of many trades and master of most: a carpenter and blacksmith who was something of a doctor, a dentistry and a vet as well. But what he loved most was music and Acadian folklore.

Émile Benoît raised 13 children in an age when life was bitterly hard. He was 60 years old before he could devote himself entirely to music. In 1973, he won his first fiddle competition. in Stephenville. He went on to take part in a number of festivals, including Une longue veillée in Cap St-Georges, and the Newfoundland and Labrador Folk Festival in St. John's. With the help of Gérald Thomas, of Memorial University's Folklore Department, Mr Benoît was able to play at most major folk events in Canada. In 1987, he went to the Festival international in Nantes, France, and a year later to the Jazz Heritage Festival in New Orleans. He was invited to perform in Norway and England, and often played with Newfoundland groups specializing in traditional music. He appeared on television a number of times, and on the radio, and recorded three records: Émile's Dream in 1979, Ça vient du Tchoeur in 1982 and Vive la Rose in 1992.

Émile Benoît was a prolific composer, credited with more than 200 fiddle tunes. For several thousand Franco-Newfoundlanders, he was a key link between the culture of the past and the culture of today. In recognition of his contribution to the Acadian cause, the Société nationale des Acadiens awarded him, in 1988, the Léger-Comeau Medal. That same year, Memorial University gave him an honorary doctorate for his contribution to francophone culture. On September 2, 1992, Émile Benoît died at the age of 79. The francophones of Newfoundland lost with him one of their most prestigious ambassadors.

 

 

 

Next


THE GREAT NAMES OF THE FRENCH CANADIAN COMMUNITY

LES GRANDS PERSONNAGES DE LA FRANCOPNONIE CANADIENNE

EXPLORONS L'UNIVERS DE LA FRANCOPHONIE CANADIENNE avec des grands noms qui ont contribué à sa richesse

EnglishRetour

ARTS ET CULTURE

Émile Benoît

Date de naissance :
24 mars 1913

Ville :
L'Anse-à-Canards

Terre-NeuveProvince :
Terre-Neuve

Vocations :
Conteur, folkloriste et violoneux

 

 

« Oui, je suis fier d'aider les Français à survivre
ici. Je n'ai pas d'ennemis, pas de mauvais amis,
je suis juste un homme libre. »

Émile Benoît


Photo : Festival Émile-Benoît

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Retour
English

 

Son père, Amédé Benoît, est d'origine française et sa mère, Adeline Duffenais, est de descendance acadienne (Cheticamp). Enfant, il étudie l'anglais lors de ses trois années passées à l'école primaire de l'Anse-à-Canards. Comme la plupart des Franco-terreneuviens de l'époque, il apprend la langue française à la maison. À l'âge de 12 ans, il est initié au métier de pêcheur, qu'il exercera tout au long de sa vie. Il se procure un violon et commence à jouer dans les bals, les mariages, lors des réunions communautaires et familiales.

Émile Benoît possède une foule de talents, il est une sorte de touche-à-tout : il est charpentier et forgeron; il possède aussi des connaissances en médecine, en dentisterie et en médecine vétérinaire. Ce qu'il préfère par-dessus tout, c'est la musique et le folklore acadien.

Émile Benoît est père de treize enfants à une époque où les conditions de vie sont très difficiles. Il ne pourra se consacrer entièrement à la musique qu'à l'âge de 60 ans. En 1973, il gagne son premier concours de violoneux à Stephenville. Il participe alors à plusieurs festivals dont ceux de Cap St-Georges, Une longue veillée, et de St. John's, le Festival folklorique de Terre-Neuve et du Labrador. Grâce à l'aide de Gérald Thomas, du département de folklore de l'Université Memorial, Émile Benoît participe à la plupart des événements folkloriques d'importance au Canada. En 1987, il participe au Festival international de Nantes, en France, et, un an plus tard, au Jazz Heritage Festival, de la Nouvelle-Orléans. Il est invité à se produire en Norvège et en Angleterre. Il joue très souvent avec des groupes de musique traditionnelle de Terre-Neuve. Il fait quelques apparitions à la télévision et à la radio et enregistre trois disques : Émile's Dream en 1979, Ça vient du Tchoeur en 1982 et Vive la Rose en 1992.

Émile Benoît est un auteur prolifique : on lui attribue plus de 200 mélodies pour violon. Pour plusieurs milliers de Terre-neuviens francophones, il est un maillon important entre la culture du passé et la culture actuelle. En reconnaissance de sa contribution à la cause des Acadiens, la Société nationale des Acadiens lui décerne, en 1988, la médaille Léger-Comeau. La même année, l'Université Memorial lui remet un doctorat honorifique pour sa contribution à la culture francophone. Le 2 septembre 1992, Émile Benoît s'éteint à l'âge de 79 ans. Les francophones de Terre-Neuve perdent alors un de leurs plus prestigieux ambassadeurs.

 

 

 

 Suivant


LES GRANDS PERSONNAGES DE LA FRANCOPNONIE CANADIENNE